Home at Last

Though I may wonder…. There really is no place like home.

Ours was a good wondering. And we’ve checked one more thing off our Bucket List.
✔️ Visit Washington D.C.

Today is Mother’s Day. That’s one thing we all have in common. We all had a mom. Some were good, some were not. Either way, she helped mold us into what we are today.
I’ve heard it said that you can only blame you problems on your mother until you’re thirty. After that it’s time to grow up and be accountable for the decisions you have made and choose what you’ll do with the hand you’ve been dealt.
I have a friend who left home as a teen because of a hard situation and today she is an amazing woman. I have another friend who was given everything she every thought she might want and still today she’s not happy.
I believe we have a choice… despite the mistakes we may or may not have made. Today you get to choose for yourself. No one else decides if you will have a good or bad day. Just you.
I suppose I sound like the eternal optimist as I’ve not walked through what you’re walking through. And you’re right. But because I have Christ inside I have hope.
He gives us a new day every morning. Choose today what you will do with your life. Starts with today and then choose again tomorrow (regardless of the outcome of yesterday). Slow and steady wins the race.  

Last day and almost home: We slept in this morning. 5 1/2 hour drive. But we are back in the south – Grits for breakfast at the hotel! On the road by 9:30 with our sunglasses on.

Not much excitement on the road today. Mile after mile of interstate with only two short delays. The landscape was beautiful through Tennessee and of course in Alabama.


But the most beautiful site was when we topped the hill and our house came into sight. I have a sign on our patio that says…”What I like best about my house is who I share it with!”

Our time away was wonderful. We saw more than I can describe. “We had a blast!” To quote Charles, when asked what should I say in my last D.C. blog post? “Everyone should get to see what we saw!”

We did leave feeling more patriotic. Proud of what our nation stands for! We are not perfect but we (U.S.) are an honorable nation.

I’m proud to be an American.

In a text conversation with a friend this morning I said…the old grey mare just ain’t what she used to be. That kinda describes us… go back a few years and we could have cut our trip in half. One week – easy peasy if we had pushed it.

Thank you for excusing all my typos and grammatical errors.  I came in exhausted every night and typed my thoughts. I read some on the way home today and I should have proofed one more time!

Thank you for reading along and for following our trip to Washington D.C.

Leave a Reply

